Hidee Ho & Away We Go

My first car was a 1972 Maverick.  It did not have power steering or power brakes, but boy did it ever go.  After starting it up, I would barely get my foot off the brake and it would charge forward as if it couldn’t wait to go on a new adventure.  For some reason, that always made me smile and I would say to myself, “Hydee ho and away we go!”  Ha!  Weird, I know.

Anyhow, when I would begin to think about starting a blog, I would get all stressed and nervous.  There are lots of reasons for that, but mostly it’s just because that is the way I am.  I seem to stress over everything these days (oh, who am I kidding?  I’ve always stressed over everything).  That’s where art comes in.  Art can be soul soothing.  It takes your mind off of what ever might be stressing you.  It’s like a form of active meditation.  It’s like getting to go out at recess and play.

While trying to make up my mind as to whether or not I wanted to commit to a blog, for some reason, that car popped in my head.  I thought, why not just charge ahead like that little car and see where it leads.   I went to my craft room to get an idea of what to create for my first blog post project and right away I spotted a printout of an image of a little boy in a car.  He looked to me like he was ready to go on a new adventure, so I created this collage.

Using a 5×7″ gallery wrapped canvas, I glued on some scrapbook paper and then added a strip of a fun map down one edge.  The map I used was glossy so I scruffed it up a bit using some sandpaper.

Since the little guy was going on a new adventure, I decided to send him off with a banner.  I cut out triangle shapes, added the letters with a permanent pen and glued them onto the canvas.

I printed the black & white image onto watercolor paper, added some color with water soluble oil pastels and lightly went over some areas with the permanent black pen.

To add some texture I brushed black paint onto the ridges of a small piece of cardboard and then randomly stamped it onto the canvas.  Once the paint was dry, I smudged some charcoal around the outside of the car to make it stand out a little more.  I then doodled on a hill with a house and some roadside weeds.

I painted the sides black and now he’s all ready to go on his adventure.

Happy adventures and thanks for stopping by!

Debbie

7 thoughts on “Hidee Ho & Away We Go

Leave a Reply

