Just Having Fun

My favorite art pieces usually end up being those that I didn’t put a lot of thought into while creating them.   In Pam Carriker’s book, Art at the Speed of Life  (love the book!), there is a section called Creating Multiple Backgrounds.  While reading this I thought how fun it would be to just grab some papers, glue and paint and go play without worrying about what to put where.

I had some 4 x 4 inch canvases and thought they would be perfect to start with.  I glued down some torn out scrapbook papers along with pages from an old dictionary, and vintage books.  I randomly brushed on some acrylic paints.  For some of the canvases, I created texture by painting onto bubble wrap and cardboard and stamping it onto the canvas.

These little canvases are all ready to go for the next time I get a creative urge, which is often!

The “Kind Heart” painting was created using one of the background canvases I had painted previously.  I drew the girl onto the canvas using a graphite pencil and then painted her in with fluid acrylics.  Detail was added to her face and hair with Micron pens.   I poured some alcohol ink on a rusted metal heart and glued it down along with the words “kind heart”.

Get speedy and have yourself some fun!

Debbie

7 thoughts on “Just Having Fun

  1. Pingback: Playful Heart « In Art Therapy

  2. These are adorable! I’d love to follow your blog by RSS (keeps the inbox clearer and lets me see your posts all in one place). Could you add a widget with an RSS feed follow option? And thanks for following me too! ;D Art IS great therapy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

