Textured Transparency- Just Not Happening

I didn’t think I was ever going to finish this painting.  I really wanted to add some textured flowers with molding paste, but I wanted the colors I used to be transparent so that previous layers could show through somewhat.  I’m sure there is a product out there somewhere that would work for this.  Maybe clear Gesso?  Guess I’ll have to do some research.

Anyhow, I ended up settling for transparency only.  I used Faber Castell Big Brush Pens and Tombow markers.  While they didn’t give me the texture I was looking for, they did give me the transparency.

First I sprayed the painting with a layer of clear matte acrylic coating and let it dry.  I did this to create a surface in which I would be able to take some of the ink off if I thought it was too dark.  Using the markers, I colored through the stencil.  I let it sit about 20 or 30 seconds and then lightly rubbed over it with a baby wipe picking up some of the color to give it more transparency.   I then took a black Pitt pen and randomly outlined some of the petals just to give them a little dimension.  Even though I didn’t get that texture, I’m still really happy with how this turned out.

Happy Painting!

3 thoughts on “Textured Transparency- Just Not Happening

Leave a Reply

