A Gift and a Thank You

IMG_2247

My sisters friend, Tina,  loves to go to estate sales.  Once I had asked her to keep an eye out for a vintage plastic doily that I could use as a stencil.  She found one that I have used many times in my art pieces.  Recently she found a vintage plastic fan that she thought I might like to have.  I had just bought the May/June edition of the Somerset Studio magazine and fell in love with a wonderful little bird painting that was on the cover.  I was really excited to see that the artist used joint compound on the piece.  I decided to thank Tina for the gift by making her a piece that was similar to the bird painting and use the fan to create texture in the joint compound.

After painting a 4×4″ wood panel with a coat of gesso, I spread a thin layer of joint compound on the bottom portion of the panel and then spread out the fan and pressed the ends into the joint compound (I washed the fan with water right away and scrubbed out any joint compound stuck to it).  Once that dried I added a coat of gel medium over the entire panel top. Once the gel medium dried,  I painted the top of the panel using Tim Holtz distress paints in Broken China and Peeled Paint (I added a little white paint to each of the colors to make them more pastel).

IMG_2245

I added some Tim Holz tape with music notes to the sides of the panel and toned it down with a few coats of gesso and then some gel medium.  I added some more tape that had words on it across the top of panel, toned it down with some gesso and then painted over it lightly with the Broken China paint mixed with white.  After drawing a black line with a Pitt pen, I added some little birds.  The birds were cut out of scrapbook paper, collaged on and outlined with the pen.  The word “imagine” was printed onto white gift tissue paper, torn out and glued down with gel medium.  I added a final coat of gel medium to the entire piece.  I love that little fan and am sure I will be using it again many times.

IMG_2264

 

4 thoughts on “A Gift and a Thank You

Leave a Reply

