Mixing it Up

Abstract front

For this painting I started with a layer of various colors of acrylic paint, stenciling and doodles.  I then added little bits of collage.  The colored circles were cut from a polka dot paper napkin and collaged onto the canvas.  I added a bit more color to the dots using Faber Castell Gelatos (love the metalic ones) and some oil pastels.   I also added a few bits of torn music pages and a torn piece of a print I had created on the gelli plate.  Next I scraped on more acrylic paint using an old store card and smudged on some more of the Gelatos.  I used a white Sharpie marker to draw around the dots and added some lines with a charcoal pencil to add interest.  I finished it off with some manganese blue and carbon black paint splatters.  I couldn’t capture it in the pictures, but the metallic Gelatos gives a little shimmer to the piece.

Abstract left

Abstract right

This canvas is 8 x 8 inches.  I haven’t finished the larger piece I’m working on from the previous post.  I’m stuck on what to do next.  I’ll just have to be patient until it comes to me.

2 thoughts on “Mixing it Up

Leave a Reply

