Layers & Texture

texture 1

I have been working on this painting on and off for a long time.  You can probably tell that by all the layers and texture.  I just couldn’t get it to where I liked it.  I am still not that thrilled with it but I’ve decided to let it be finished.  This painting is on a canvas and is 11 x 14 inches.

texture 2

There’s a lot of different media in this one.  I started with collage which can’t even be seen anymore.  Some of the layers were created by applying  molding paste with a palette knife.  The little circles were added using a stencil and molding paste.  I used acrylics, gelatos, watercolor crayons, gouache, colored pencils, charcoal pencil, posca paint marker and gel pen.  Could be more but I can’t remember since I have been working on it for so long.

I’m hoping to get some time in over the holiday weekend to start a new larger painting.  I’m also looking forward to working in a new journal I recently started which is inspired by Karen O’Brien’s Imaginary Characters book.

Happy Thanksgiving!

 

5 thoughts on “Layers & Texture

  1. This is gorgeous! It is all a process isn’t it? I find a lot of people like things I have that I don’t care for at all. Happy Thanksgiving to you and enjoy your new endeavors!.

    Like

Leave a Reply

