Drifting Peacefully

Easter 2011 027

This past Sunday, my beautiful, sweet, and kindhearted mother passed away.  I loved her so much.  Mom had Alzheimer’s disease for the past 10 years.  Through it all, she never lost her sense of humor and even had us laughing the evening before she passed away, even though she wasn’t feeling well.  I already miss her so much I can’t stand it.

I don’t usually write anything personal on the blog but had to share this picture of my mom taken in 2011, along with a poem written by my sweet cousin, Kathy.

Kathy writes poems for her friends and family, especially in times when they need her beautiful words to help get them through something heartbreaking.  This is the beautiful poem she wrote for our family.

Drifting Peacefully
I have been drifting away it seems for so long
I’m sure sometimes you’ve felt, I was already gone
Though I’m finally at peace, feeling, I’m home at last!
I’m with many other loved ones, who have quietly passed
So try not to be sad, my loved ones who are still here
I love you so much and I will always be near
So think of me with happy thoughts, every now and then
I am always with you and I will see you again.
But until then just remember, I’ll always be near
And my love for you all, will always be here.
Drifting peacefully!
In Memory of
Bobbie Faye Widdows 1933-2016
Written with love by Kathy Widdows Adams

We will cherish it always.  Thank you Kathy!

 

12 thoughts on “Drifting Peacefully

  1. Condolences to you and your family. The poem was beautiful. I work for an organisation who helps people living with dementia, and their families, so I know a lot about the disease (more than I’d like to, really). I’m so sorry for your loss. I hope that you get some comfort from sharing your sadness, and also some peace, knowing that your Mum is now at hers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

