A Little Bird Told Me

A Little Bird

This is a re-do of a collage painting that I must not have liked too well the first time around.  I had torn all the paper that had been glued to it off and it was looking pretty bad.  I started out by gluing down scrapbook paper.  The paper mostly got covered up with alcohol inks and paint, but the colors in the paper is what inspired the colors I chose to use in the painting.

A Little Bird right side view (2)

I sketched in the girl with a charcoal pencil and painted her face and neck with acrylic paint.  Next I covered most of the paper with white acrylic paint and then started dropping alcohol inks onto the front and sides of the canvas around the girl.

A Little Bird top view

I decided to use the ink on her hair too.  In case you can’t tell, I was having fun with those inks.  I may have got a bit carried away with them like I did the last time I used them.   I don’t use them often because the smell really bothers me.

I added the little bird because the girl looked like she was looking at and listening to something.  Part of the color in the bird is from the alcohol ink drops but I did also use a little acrylic paint to finish it off.

Have a great week!

Debbie

5 thoughts on “A Little Bird Told Me

Leave a comment